Springfield schools announce Excellence in Teaching award winner - Western Mass News - WGGB/WSHM

Springfield schools announce Excellence in Teaching award winners

Posted: Updated:

The Springfield Public Schools announced Monday that 25 teachers have received the district's Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching award. The awards are handed out to recognize professionalism, as well as effectiveness, creativity, subject knowledge, student impact and support for colleagues.

According to spokeswoman Azell Cavaan, winners will each receive a cash award of $500, an engraved plaque, a three-month gym membership to the YMCA of Greater Springfield and the Jewish Community Center, and grants for course offerings by invitation from WGBY, Bay Path College, Westfield State University, Western New England University, Springfield College and other gifts.

The following recipients will be honored during a School Committee meeting on Thursday, March 14 as well as at a May 1 ceremony at the Log Cabin in Holyoke. They are listed by name, followed by the school they teach at.

  • Christina O'Connor, Balliet
  • Joette St. George, Brightwood
  • Anne Marie Bettencourt, Central
  • Travis Reed, Central
  • Cathy Denno, Dorman
  • Laurie Ellis, Dorman
  • Audrey Sienkiewicz, Dryden
  • Sheryl Hall, Ells
  • Kelsey Bishop, Gerena
  • Emily Huntingon, Glickman
  • Tim Losee, Kennedy
  • Nathan Orie, Kennedy
  • Jillian Abdow, Lincoln
  • Denise Greenberg, Pottenger
  • Sage Lteif, South End
  • April Wesley, Springfield Public Day High
  • Martha Manzi, District Wide Instructional Leader for Science
  • Katie Bevan, Sumner Avenue
  • Katie Strong, Sumner
  • Robert Jones, Springfield Renaissance
  • Deidre Cuffee Gray, Springfield Renaissance
  • Lynn Beglane, Talmadge
  • Maryann Sullivan, Walsh
  • Nicole Howell (New Teacher Award), Washington
  • Mariel Vazquez, White Street
  • Diane Zamar, White Street

Copyright 2013 WSHM (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WGGB/WSHM; Springfield, MA. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.