President Obama declares 7 Mississippi counties disaster areas - Western Mass News - WGGB/WSHM

President Obama declares 7 Mississippi counties disaster areas

Posted: Updated:
JACKSON, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

President Obama has declared a major disaster in the State of Mississippi and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding beginning on April 28, 2014, and continuing.  

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of:

  • Itawamba
  • Lee
  • Lowndes
  • Madison
  • Rankin
  • Wayne
  • Winston

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.  

Federal funding also is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal and emergency work for damage from the severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding in the affected counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.   

FEMA said that residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance tomorrow by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

Copyright 2014 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WGGB/WSHM; Springfield, MA. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.