Seasame Street Forever Stamps

(Meredith) - Sixteen iconic characters from the long-running children's show "Sesame Street" will soon be featured on stamps from the United States Postal Service.

The agency said it will release the stamps to celebrate the show's 50th anniversary later this year. 

"The Postal Service honors 'Sesame Street' as one of the most influential and beloved children’s television shows," a press release stated. "For the last 50 years, it has provided educational programming and entertainment for generations of children throughout the country and around the world."

Each stamp, designed by art director Derry Noyes, will feature one of the following Muppets: Big Bird, Ernie, Bert, Cookie Monster, Rosita, The Count, Oscar the Grouch, Abby Cadabby, Herry Monster, Julia, Guy Smiley, Snuffleupagus, Elmo, Telly, Grover and Zoe.

USPS also unveiled new Tyrannosaurus Rex stamps and Halloween stamps depicting spooky silhouettes of bats, spiders and ghosts that will be available soon. 

Specific release dates have not yet been announced. 

Copyright 2019 Meredith Corporation. All rights reserved.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.